top of page
The Basics of Assault Charges in Maryland
Maryland has felony assault charges and misdemeanor assault charges.
Assault in the 1st Degree is a felony charge that carries up to 25 years in prison.
Assault in the 2nd Degree is a misdemeanor charge that carries up to 10 years in prison.
The possible penalties for each are different, with felony assault including a harsher possible consequence in terms of jail time and fines. Felony assault cases are the most serious, often involving very long sentencing guideline recommendations, even misdemeanor assaults can carry the potential of multiyear prison sentences. In recent years, more counties are diligently prosecuting assault cases.
An important consideration with any Assault charge is how the charge will impact a Defendant's future. Assaults are considered violent crimes and having any judgment for Assault on one's criminal record can create serious limitations on a person's life.
These cases often involve complex legal issues and potential defenses therefore they require an experienced attorney to provide effective representation.
Email or call Phillips Law Group if you have been charged with Assault.
For more information you might find helpful, visit these links:
Considerations in Maryland Assault Cases
Click here to contact Phillips Law Group to have your case evaluated.
bottom of page